Chamber announces Citizen of the Years, ATHENA Award recipients

Chamber announces Citizen of the Years, ATHENA Award recipients

The Chamber announces the recipients of two prestigious awards recognizing outstanding commitment to the Lawrence community and its citizens. Mike Amyx is the recipient of the Citizen of the Years award, while Cindy Yulich will receive the ATHENA Award, presented by Crown Automotive. Both awards will be presented to the winners at The Chamber’s Annual Meeting on January 27 at Abe & Jake’s Landing, 8 E. Sixth St., Lawrence, Kan.

2017 Citizen of the Years

Mike Amyx is a lifelong resident of Lawrence and has served as the city’s Mayor six times. His dedication to public service in Lawrence and Douglas County started in 1983 and continues today. His terms as Lawrence City Commissioner span 1983 – 1988, and again starting in 2005 to present day. He also spent time on the Douglas County Commission from 1988 – 1993, serving as the Commission Chairman from 1989-91.  Amyx owns Amyx Barber Shop, Inc., a family owned and operated business since 1942. Amyx is a former member of the Kansas Board of Barbering and is also the former Chair of the organization.

“Mike’s dedication to Lawrence, Douglas County, and its citizens speaks for itself, with his public service spanning nearly 35 years,” said Larry McElwain, President and CEO of The Chamber, Lawrence, Kansas. “Mike embodies the idea of servant leadership and with the completion of his sixth term as Lawrence Mayor, this is the perfect opportunity to honor his commitment to our community.”

2016 Crown Automotive Organization ATHENA Award

Cindy Yulich opened the Lawrence branch of Emprise Bank in 1991 and now serves as its Market President. Yulich’s dedication to the Lawrence community spans many years and many causes. She served as a member of the Lawrence School Board and established a scholarship recognizing former superintendent Randy Weseman. She is a founding board member and treasurer of the Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center, and chaired the search committee for Peaslee Tech’s executive director. She is currently the Chair of the Lawrence Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees and chaired the search committee to hire new CEO Russ Johnson. Yulich has served on the board of The Chamber, including a term as Chair. She is also a past chair and current board member of the Economic Development Corporation of Lawrence & Douglas County. Yulich’s other service to the community includes time on boards for United Way, the Lawrence Schools Foundation/LEAP, and the American Cancer Society. Yulich is a graduate of Leadership Lawrence and was the 2013 Wally Galuzzi Chamber Volunteer of the Year.

“Cindy is an exception leader in the Lawrence community, dedicated to mentoring and encouraging people, while leading by example,” said Miles Schnaer, President of Crown Automotive. “She has an uncanny ability to listen and bring people together. Her service to the Lawrence community is simply outstanding.” Read more about Cindy from previous ATHENA Award winners here.

< Back To Newsroom
Loading Quotes...
The Chamber provides our members with the tools and resources to help them
build, sustain and grow their business.